Does Alpha Inventions Increase Your Traffic?

QUESTION: AI seems to be very very effective in getting my blog loaded and offers the potential for the person watching to pause long enough to be tempted to engage.

On the times I have made use of AI I have been quite impressed with it’s effectiveness – but alas I have not seen that been translated into consistent readership outside of AI and better still interaction through comments – which to me is what I am interested in.

Have you seen this translation?

ANSWER:  My statistics say, YES!

I am running statistics on my traffic through wordpress which shows me the referral sources that brings people to my sites; the number of total views (which includes each time your page displays on Alpha Inventions, I am pretty sure) and also the number of pages that are visited.

 I am seeing several things:

  1. Alpha Inventions has brought me huge traffic views when the topic is eye catching (eg Dolphin Slaughter in Japan – 1900 in one day);
  2. Alpha Inventions brings additional traffic after you write about them in your blog – even if you have not submitted your site through them on that occasion
  3. A submission to AI always brings some additional traffic (views)

What I am finding is that my traffic is steadily increasing and the referral sources (wordpress dashboard; AI; the new CN search engine, even LiveFeed etc) are increasing all the time. The pages that are visited is also increasing and the viewing of associated sites (eg No Tall Poppies linked to Build Your Traffic linked to Smart Poppies)

Yesterday (11/3/2009) No Tall Poppies had 101 views from 37 referrals, of which only 13 were from Alpha Inventions.

46 pages were visited – so, if we assume that 13 views from AI resulted only in views on their site, but no actual visits; 36 referrals generated 88 views and 46 pages were visited. That means that I am now getting about one in every two people who come across my site (No Tall Poppies) are taking the time to actually stop and read something there. Or maybe one in every four is reading at least two pages on the site – I am still evaluating the data.

There is no doubt that using Alpha Inventions has brought me and continues to bring me an increasing readership and an increasing number of referral sources.

On comments – don’t hold your breath – very few people comment.

I make it a practice to visit at least thirty other sites a week and leave a comment. I might get two responses on my own site from that. You can also analyse from the referral sources how many of those comments have generated a return visit.

WordPress Dashboard:  This is an extremely important source of traffic, because readers use your tags to find you.

Keep your use of tags high and consistent – if you have been found once by a tag, it is highly likely your reader will use the same tag to find you again. 

It’s recurring readership that is the true value and you will never be able to measure that by comments. Start analysing your Statistics on your dashboard to see where and when and why your traffic arrives.

As a test – I am not going to submit this post to Alpha Inventions – we have had no views at the time of posting today – so, let’s see what happens.  I will report back tomorrow.

PS Thanks very much for stopping by and asking a very interesting question. Better than a comment – I will leave your link  http://synapticlight.com/

13 Comments

Filed under Build Extra Income, Build Your Traffic, Subscribers

13 responses to “Does Alpha Inventions Increase Your Traffic?

  1. synapticlight

    Thanks for answering my question.

    It is a pity that very few people comment because it goes against what the internet is about – an online community. Community is about interaction.

    Well I love the interaction, that’s why I also make an effort to comment as much as possible 🙂

    And thanks for the link to me 🙂

  2. Does AI increase traffic by getting you a page hit each time someone views your webblog on AI, but doesn’t necessarily click on your web link? I don’t think that should count as webtraffic, as many people probably have AI running in another browser window. It is debatable that this counts as a true webhit, and definitely should not count as a unique hit on a webpage.

    Al
    http://www.MyCheapBastards.com
    http://www.GreenSoulShoes.org

    • Thanks, Stephen. We are running some experiments to try and differentiate between page views and actual visits from Alpha Inventions – notwithstanding the fact that what makes people “click” on your page is whether it is interesting enough for them to want to read what it has to say. That is the final measurement of the value of your own site. But, certainly getting Alpha Inventions viewers to see your page on their screen and to have the opportunity to make the choice of “visiting” you or not has got be to your advantage. As I say, this is an experiment in progress and we will be reporting our outcomes very soon.

  3. boydwfl

    I have also noticed an increase in traffic due to AI – it is hard to tell though how many of these hits are actually reading my posts. I don’t think any have resulted in comments so far. Never the less, it is interesting that after I post I seem to have more who drop by to check out what I am posting.

    Thanks for your post…I found it helpful in trying to figure this all out!

    • Thanks for your comment. We are running some experiments to try and differentiate between page views and actual visits from Alpha Inventions – notwithstanding the fact that what makes people “click” on your page is whether it is interesting enough for them to want to read what it has to say. That is the final measurement of the value of your own site. But, certainly getting Alpha Inventions viewers to see your page on their screen and to have the opportunity to make the choice of “visiting” you or not has got be to your advantage. As I say, this is an experiment in progress and we will be reporting our outcomes very soon. The point that you make of more people dropping by later seems to indicate that not everyone “clicks” on your site the first time they see it rotate through AI – it may take five or six times – and I am quite sure that Chenu has built this human factor into his viewing rotations.

  4. tommybloggingsports

    I just found it this morning, in my blog stats. I had NEVER heard of it. I will be giving some time to this for a few days, and see what happens

    • Hi, Tommy and welcome to Build Your Traffic. Thanks for the comments. We are running some evaluations and really looking forward to being able to publish meaningful results. Cheers Lesley

  5. Lesley

    interesting post.

    I think I will try a similar experiment.

    I will probably link to this post.

    regards

    Peter

  6. Pingback: AlphaInventions:increasing reach and range « Some Thoughts - Peter Salmon’s Blog

  7. Phillip Gibb

    I am still not convinced about the usefulness of AI.
    It is a great tool for ramping up your page hits, but

    1. it does not translate into consistent readership and interaction with reader

    2. links have to be resubmitted as they will ultimately be bumped off the queue

    3. Most of the ‘hits’ you get is from people waiting for the url text box to be enabled. Or they leave in the back ground.

    I am not dissing the effectiveness of AI.
    There may even be situations where a reader will press pause, subscribe to your feed and interact – but that will be a small percentage.

    I do however believe that AI give a false impression of the ‘successfulness’ of your blog – if you measure that purely in terms of page hits.

    I measure rather on comments and interaction.
    That’s why I am here commenting because that is what blogging is about – my opinion.

    Phill
    [twitter: http://twitter.com/phillipgibb%5D
    [blog: http://synapticlight.com/%5D

    • It certainly ramps up the page hits – but translating those “views” or “hits” into real traffic is one of the things we are trying to evaluate. We are looking forward to publishing the results fairly soon. Thanks for the comment.

  8. awnja

    My blog is lame (haven’t gotten serious or focused yet; just practice I guess), but I went to Alpha Inventions before I knew what it was and WOW did I get a lot of hits that day. Then I posted a question on the blog asking where everyone was coming from and a reader immediately commented telling me it was Alpha Inventions. It was one of the only two comments I’ve gotten thus far. So they do read the blog.. at least someone out there does. No one came back as far as I could tell, but there hasn’t been much to read so that’s most likely a result of my content (or lack there of) and not a good indicator of AI’s potential.

Leave a Reply

